stsadm can inadvertently delete a root site collection if erroneous URL path used


This is something you should definitely be aware of while using the restore command.  If you pass an improper URL path to the stsadm –o restore command with the -overwrite parameter and getting an error you notice a site one level up from the site you were trying to restore is deleted.  The root level site http://servername is deleted.

Make sure your URLs are correct (no take backs) before you try restoring in a production environment.

About wesmacdonald

Wes MacDonald is a Visual Studio ALM MVP, PSD, MCT and a Principal Consultant for LIKE 10 INC., a SharePoint Server, Visual Studio and Team Foundation Server Consulting Firm providing premium support and guidance services.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: